top of page
  • Writer's pictureRyan Lawrence

multi cam evaluation

My multi cam show was essentially the worst game of “two truths one lie”. That’s what it was planned as. The idea was to have too people come up with the most bizarre truths and lies, regardless of whether they were all fake or not. It was meant a jab/ parody the fact that so many content creator, YouTube channels etc will throw out one of those types of videos, mainly because they know they will get views and views lead to monetisation money.

Overall, I was pleased with the show. My timing was off when it came to the cut aways and I accidentally ended up being over time. To avoid this in any future multi cam projects I will have to make sure I’m calculating the time of the segments and the cut always a lot better. What should have been a ten-minute show ended up being an 11 minute show. If it were live on television that would not be acceptable in any way.

The lighting I feel could have been more creative or more colourful. The background is just a mix of blue and white light. It doesn’t do much for the production itself. It doesn’t make anything, or anyone stand out and its really boring to look at. If I were to do it again, I would have a lot more colourful and aesthetically pleasing lighting. This would make it a lot easier to watch and may even help keep the audience’s attention if the script is unable to do so certain parts of the show.

There were two people who took part in the show. One presenter and one guest. This was mainly due to the fact that everyone else had a job to do but if it were possible, I would have had one more person on as a guest. It would have been easier for 3 people to keep talking or ad-libbing when it’s needed. With just two people playing the game it can get very repetitive and ad-libbing becomes harder.

The script I had wrote was very simplistic. Most of the truths and lies I wanted to just be ad-libbed. I didn’t want to have a fully scripted ten-minute show due to the fact that it would be incredibly hard to learn, rehears and practice. The more I let those taking part say what they want an get creative, the easier it becomes for them to relax and not have to worry about what line comes next. There were some scripted lines just to keep it structured and to make sure the entire show wasn’t just a total mess from start to finish.

Overall, I think the show was a success. The main goal for me was to make it funny and I believe I achieved that. Even with the terrible lighting and the hiccups within vision mixing it adds to the whole “comically bad” feel across the whole show. That being said I know the show is far from perfect.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Edinburgh Napier TV Drama Production log.

As it is stated that the log must be online i have decided to use my own website. This website contains all of my work from previous years at college as well as some of the work from University like "

Evaluation

The planning stage / pre-production went very smoothly. It wasn’t too hard for me to come up with a script that allowed me to get very creative when it came to production but also simple enough that p

bottom of page